Best Pest Control Software for Job Costing (2026): Profitability Tracking Compared

Job costing report card showing revenue $2,840 minus materials, labor, and overhead costs, with a green highlighted gross profit row of $1,670 at 58.8% margin. Left side shows tier pricing swatches for GorillaDesk Pro $99/mo and Jobber Grow $199/mo. Right side shows a B+ grade badge.

PestGrade is reader-supported. When you sign up for a tool through our links, we may earn a commission, at no cost to you, and it never affects our rankings. How we grade →

For a pest operator who needs explicit job costing, Jobber Grow ($199/mo monthly) is the only platform with profitability tracking documented on its public pricing page, but it has no chemical compliance. For pest-dedicated shops that need cost awareness plus FIFRA compliance on one platform, GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) covers commission tracking and 20+ built-in reports alongside chemical tracking from the entry tier.

What pest control operators need from job costing software

Job costing in field service means knowing whether each job, route, or customer is actually profitable, not just that you got paid. A pest operator running quarterly recurring routes needs to see whether the $149 quarterly service visit is still worth taking after factoring in drive time, pesticide cost, technician pay, and overhead. Without this data, growing a pest business often means taking on more work at declining margins without realizing it.

The core components of job costing for pest operators are distinct from reporting and analytics broadly:

  • Expense tracking per job: recording the actual materials used, labor time logged by the technician, and any direct overhead costs against a specific work order. This is different from recording chemical usage for compliance (which GorillaDesk and other pest-native platforms do well at entry tiers) and different from general financial reporting.
  • Labor costing: translating technician time on each job into a dollar cost using hourly rates, so the platform can calculate what a job actually cost in labor, not just how long it took.
  • Profitability calculation: the output, showing revenue minus materials, labor, and overhead per job, per technician, or per route, so operators can identify which service types, technicians, or customer segments are worth growing and which are eroding margins.

The pest-specific complication: FIFRA-compliant chemical usage documentation already requires recording what pesticides were applied to each job. Platforms that handle chemical compliance tracking and job costing in the same system avoid double-entry and give operators a more complete picture of per-job cost. The platforms that combine both are fewer than operators might expect.

For the broader picture of financial reporting features across platforms, see the pest control software reporting and analytics comparison.

Job costing features: side-by-side comparison

Feature GorillaDesk Jobber Housecall Pro QuoteIQ FieldRoutes PestPac
Job costing (per-job profit tracking) Not documented on pricing page Grow ($199/mo monthly); Plus adds automation Listed in features; tier not confirmed on pricing page Not documented
Expense tracking per job Not documented on pricing page Connect ($139/mo monthly); receipt attachments Not documented by tier Not documented
Commission tracking (production + sales) Pro ($99/mo); both types Not documented on pricing page Essentials ($149/mo annual) Max ($699/mo)
Built-in financial reports 20+ reports from Basic ($49/mo) Basic reporting from Core; full job costing at Grow+ Insights dashboard; tier not confirmed on pricing page Sales pipeline reports from Essentials ($29.99/mo)
Chemical / pesticide tracking (FIFRA) All plans from Basic ($49/mo) No chemical tracking at any tier No chemical tracking at any tier No chemical tracking at any tier Included; pricing not listed Included; pricing not listed
Entry price (monthly billing) $49/mo Basic $49/mo Core; job costing at Grow $199/mo $79/mo Basic $29.99/mo Essentials

Sources: gorilladesk.com/pricing, getjobber.com/pricing, housecallpro.com/pricing, myquoteiq.com/pricing. Verified September 1, 2026. “—” means pricing and feature detail not publicly listed. GorillaDesk Pro commission tracking and 20+ reports confirmed on gorilladesk.com/pricing. Jobber job costing at Grow and expense tracking at Connect confirmed on getjobber.com/pricing. Housecall Pro job costing listed in features section but tier not specified on pricing page as of September 1, 2026. Jobber Grow annual billing: $149/mo for 1 user.

GorillaDesk: commission tracking and 20+ reports, not per-job cost accounting

GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) is the practical choice for pest-dedicated operators who want cost and performance visibility alongside FIFRA-compliant chemical tracking on one platform. According to gorilladesk.com/pricing (verified September 1, 2026), the Pro tier includes:

  • Production commission tracking for calculating technician pay based on what they produce on each job, which ties job revenue directly to the compensation owed.
  • Sales commission tracking for operators with a sales or account management function.
  • 20+ built-in reports from the Basic tier ($49/mo), including revenue, chemical usage, and per-tech productivity, with the reporting dashboard available at entry.

GorillaDesk Growth ($149/mo) adds advanced sales pipeline reporting, custom fields for data capture, and smart views for lead follow-up, extending reporting into the sales and growth side of the business.

What GorillaDesk does not document on its pricing page is per-job cost accounting: recording materials cost, labor cost, and overhead per job to produce a job-level profit calculation. Material tracking is included from Basic for FIFRA compliance (recording what pesticides were applied), but this is a compliance log, not a cost ledger. An operator wanting to know whether each quarterly service call is profitable at the job level would need to calculate that separately or accept the commission and revenue reports as a proxy for margin awareness.

For the complete GorillaDesk feature and pricing analysis, see the GorillaDesk review.

Jobber Grow: the only platform with documented job costing

Jobber Grow is the only platform in this comparison with “Track profitability with job costing” documented on its public pricing page as of September 1, 2026. At $199/mo on monthly billing or $149/mo on annual billing (1 user), Jobber Grow gives operators the ability to record what each job actually cost in materials and labor and compare it against what the job billed.

The job costing capability builds on expense tracking that unlocks one tier earlier. Jobber Connect ($139/mo monthly, $99/mo annual for 1 user) includes time and expense tracking per job with receipt attachments, so technicians can log materials purchased and time spent before the Grow tier converts that data into a profitability calculation. According to getjobber.com/pricing (verified September 1, 2026), the progression is:

  • Connect ($139/mo monthly, $99/mo annual): time and expense tracking per job, automatic payment collection, QuickBooks Online sync.
  • Grow ($199/mo monthly, $149/mo annual): adds “Track profitability with job costing”, two-way SMS messaging, automatic time tracking.
  • Plus ($499/mo monthly, $399/mo annual): adds “Automate job costing and profitability tracking”, pipeline management, and the Marketing Suite add-on.

The significant caveat for pest operators: Jobber has no FIFRA-compliant chemical or pesticide tracking at any tier. A pest shop choosing Jobber for its job costing capability still needs a separate system for chemical usage documentation, whether a paper log, a state compliance form, or a standalone app. This doubles the documentation burden for any operator running treatments subject to pesticide application record-keeping requirements. For a direct comparison, see the Jobber review for pest control.

Housecall Pro: job costing mentioned but tier not confirmed

Housecall Pro lists “Track and report the costs associated with each job” as a feature on its website, but its public pricing page does not specify which tier unlocks this capability as of September 1, 2026. Housecall Pro’s three published tiers are Basic ($79/mo monthly), Essentials ($189/mo monthly, $149/mo annual), and Max ($329/mo monthly, $299/mo annual).

Housecall Pro Essentials confirms commission structures, employee phone GPS, and route optimization. The absence of a job costing tier specification on the pricing page means an operator would need to confirm the feature tier directly with Housecall Pro sales before committing. Housecall Pro also has no chemical tracking at any tier, which is the core disqualifier for pest-dedicated shops regardless of the job costing question.

For multi-trade service businesses where pest is one of several services and chemical compliance is not the constraint, Housecall Pro may be worth evaluating for job costing once the tier is confirmed. For the pest-specific Housecall Pro analysis, see the Housecall Pro review for pest control.

QuoteIQ, FieldRoutes, and PestPac: what’s publicly known

QuoteIQ does not document job costing or per-job profitability tracking on its public pricing page as of September 1, 2026. QuoteIQ’s reporting includes sales pipeline data from the Essentials tier ($29.99/mo) and additional analytics at higher tiers, but these are sales-focused metrics rather than job-level cost accounting. QuoteIQ has no chemical tracking at any tier.

FieldRoutes and PestPac do not publish pricing or financial reporting feature detail on their public pages. Both platforms serve larger operations and are known among enterprise pest operators for strong financial reporting depth, but specifics require a sales demo. Both include chemical tracking as core features of their compliance-forward platforms.

Monthly price to access job costing features (monthly billing) $/mo entry $200 $150 $100 $50 $0 $99/mo GorillaDesk Pro (commission) $139/mo Jobber Connect (expense) $199/mo Jobber Grow (job costing) tier not confirmed Housecall Pro (job costing listed) not publicly listed FR / PestPac (demo required) Solid bars = documented on pricing page. Dashed = feature listed but tier unconfirmed or pricing not public. Monthly billing rates. Our compiled data, verified September 1, 2026 from vendor pricing pages.
Monthly price to access job costing features by platform. Jobber Grow ($199/mo monthly) is the only platform with explicit job costing documented. GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) covers commission tracking. Housecall Pro lists job costing but does not confirm the tier on its pricing page. Our compiled data, verified September 1, 2026.

What operators say about job costing and financial reporting

Operator feedback on financial tracking features, drawn from Capterra and G2 reviews (September 2026), surfaces consistent patterns across platforms.

GorillaDesk operators (Capterra, 278+ reviews) consistently praise the 20+ built-in reports and the fact that chemical tracking and revenue reporting live in the same platform, reducing the number of systems to manage. A pattern across multiple reviews: operators value having pest compliance and operational reporting unified, so the main reporting dashboard covers both chemical usage and business performance without switching tools. The frustration noted in a subset of reviews is that detailed per-job cost breakdown is not as explicit as some operators would like, particularly those who came from platforms like QuickBooks where they tracked job costs through an accounting lens. These operators typically run GorillaDesk alongside QuickBooks Online (which GorillaDesk Pro syncs with) to get job-level profit visibility through a combined workflow.

Jobber operators (Capterra, 700+ pest and field service reviews) who use Grow or Plus frequently highlight job costing as a reason they chose Jobber or upgraded from a lower tier. Reviews on Capterra note that seeing per-job profitability, especially for operators who had previously tracked this in spreadsheets, changes how they price services and which routes they grow. The recurring frustration from pest-specific operators on Jobber is the absence of chemical tracking, which forces them to maintain a parallel paper log or separate app for FIFRA compliance documentation. This two-system approach is cited as an ongoing friction point by pest operators who otherwise find Jobber’s job costing useful.

Housecall Pro operators (GetApp, 2,743+ reviews) mention job tracking and expense visibility in positive reviews, but the tier-specific detail is muddier in user accounts than in the pricing page, consistent with Housecall Pro’s pricing page not specifying the tier. Pest operators on Housecall Pro who also need chemical compliance universally note this as a gap they work around with separate tools.

Right for / wrong for

Jobber Grow is right for: multi-trade or mixed field service operators who need job costing and profitability tracking explicitly documented, do not require FIFRA-compliant chemical tracking in the same platform, and are comfortable running a separate compliance record for any pest treatments. Useful for operators who came from QuickBooks and want job-level P&L without leaving their management software. Grow costs $199/mo monthly or $149/mo annual (1 user).

GorillaDesk Pro is right for: pest-dedicated operators who need chemical compliance and business performance visibility on one platform, accept commission tracking and revenue reports (rather than explicit per-job cost accounting) as their profitability proxy, and want to avoid managing two systems. GorillaDesk Pro at $99/mo is the practical choice when compliance cannot be separated from the management software.

Both platforms are wrong for: operators who need explicit per-job cost calculations that automatically include technician pay rates, materials cost, and overhead without any manual steps, at a price below $99/mo. That capability is not publicly documented at any entry-tier price across this comparison.

FieldRoutes and PestPac are worth evaluating for larger commercial operations that can commit to a demo-required platform and need both chemical compliance and financial depth. Neither publishes pricing or job costing details publicly.

For explicit job costing: Jobber Grow

Jobber Grow is the only platform with “Track profitability with job costing” confirmed on its pricing page. At $149/mo annual or $199/mo monthly for 1 user, it gives multi-trade or non-compliance-critical pest operators a documented job profitability workflow. No chemical tracking is included.

PestGrade is reader-supported. When you sign up for a tool through our links, we may earn a commission, at no cost to you, and it never affects our rankings. How we grade →

Different situation? See our analysis above, or read how we grade.

For pest-dedicated shops needing compliance plus cost visibility: GorillaDesk Pro

GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) combines FIFRA chemical tracking from the Basic tier with commission tracking, 20+ built-in reports, and QuickBooks Online sync at Pro, keeping chemical compliance and business performance data in one platform for pest-dedicated operators.

PestGrade is reader-supported. When you sign up for a tool through our links, we may earn a commission, at no cost to you, and it never affects our rankings. How we grade →

Frequently asked questions

What is the best pest control software for job costing?
Jobber Grow ($199/mo monthly, $149/mo annual for 1 user) is the only platform with “Track profitability with job costing” documented on its pricing page as of September 1, 2026. For pest-dedicated shops that also need chemical compliance on one platform, GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) covers commission tracking and 20+ built-in reports alongside FIFRA chemical tracking. Verified September 1, 2026.
Does GorillaDesk have job costing features?
GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) includes production and sales commission tracking plus 20+ built-in reports, but “job costing” or per-job profit calculations are not separately documented on its pricing page as of September 1, 2026. GorillaDesk syncs with QuickBooks Online at Pro, allowing operators to use both systems for more detailed job-level financials. Verified September 1, 2026.
What Jobber tier tracks job profitability?
Jobber Grow is the first tier with documented job costing. Grow costs $199/mo monthly or $149/mo annual (1 user). Jobber Connect ($139/mo monthly) adds expense tracking per job one tier earlier. Jobber Plus ($499/mo monthly, $399/mo annual) automates job costing. None include chemical tracking. Verified September 1, 2026.
Can pest control software track per-job expenses?
Jobber Connect ($139/mo monthly) documents time and expense tracking per job with receipt attachments. GorillaDesk records pesticide applications per job for compliance from the Basic tier ($49/mo), which is a compliance log rather than a full cost ledger. Housecall Pro lists job costing in features but does not confirm the tier on its pricing page. Verified September 1, 2026.
Does Housecall Pro have job costing for pest control?
Housecall Pro lists “Track and report the costs associated with each job” as a feature but does not specify which tier unlocks it on the public pricing page as of September 1, 2026. Housecall Pro also has no chemical tracking at any tier. Pest operators who need chemical compliance cannot rely on Housecall Pro for that requirement, regardless of its job costing tier. Verified September 1, 2026.

Related reading