Fieldwork pest control software review (2026): pricing, features & who it’s right for
PestGrade is reader-supported. When you sign up for a tool through our links, we may earn a commission, at no cost to you, and it never affects our rankings. How we grade →
Fieldwork is a purpose-built pest control FSM. Its pricing page (verified September 21, 2026) lists Startup at $59/mo, Business at $79/mo (routing, QR trap tracking), and Pro at $99/mo. A Solo plan appears on the features page with CRM, scheduling, and chemical reporting, but is not priced at fieldworkhq.com/pricing; GetApp reports $39/mo (September 2026). CA/NY compliance reporting and a two-week free trial are available. Contact Fieldwork to confirm the Solo plan price before signing up.
Grade and verdict, scoped by operator type
PestGrade grade: B overall. Fieldwork is a legitimate pest-specific FSM with genuine compliance depth. Its pricing page lists Startup at $59/mo as the lowest plan, with route optimization locked to the $79/mo Business tier and recurring billing unconfirmed on any public page. One complication surfaced this update: the features page (fieldworkhq.com/features, verified September 21, 2026) lists a Solo plan below Startup with CRM, scheduling, chemical reporting, and payment processing, but no price appears on the pricing page. GetApp reports $39/mo for Solo (September 2026), which, if confirmed, would make Fieldwork cheaper to start than GorillaDesk Basic ($49/mo), not more expensive. That comparison rests on a vendor-unconfirmed figure, so the grade holds at B until Fieldwork publicly lists the Solo plan price.
- CA/NY compliance-focused operators: Fieldwork Business at $79/mo
- California and New York operators face some of the strictest state-level pesticide application record requirements in the US. Fieldwork’s features page (verified September 21, 2026) specifically lists California and New York chemical compliance report formats, a differentiator GorillaDesk does not explicitly advertise in its public documentation. If your operation’s chemical records need to match specific state reporting formats (not just material usage logs), Fieldwork Business at $79/mo is worth evaluating. You also get route optimization and QR barcode trap device tracking at that tier.
- Solo operator wanting the lowest confirmed entry cost: verify Fieldwork Solo, then compare
- Fieldwork’s pricing page (fieldworkhq.com/pricing, verified September 21, 2026) lists Startup at $59/mo as the lowest plan. However, the features page also lists a Solo plan with CRM, scheduling, chemical reporting, and payment processing that is not priced on the pricing page. GetApp reports the Solo plan at $39/mo (retrieved September 21, 2026), which would undercut GorillaDesk Basic at $49/mo. Since the vendor has not publicly confirmed that price, this review cannot validate it. Contact Fieldwork directly to confirm the Solo plan price before signing up. If Solo is not available or costs more than $49/mo, GorillaDesk Basic at $49/mo (with material tracking and basic routing from entry) is the lower-risk confirmed choice.
- Small crew needing routing + trap device tracking before $99/mo: Fieldwork Business at $79/mo
- GorillaDesk includes basic 25-stop routing from $49/mo Basic, but QR barcode device and trap tracking requires its $99/mo Pro plan. Fieldwork Business at $79/mo includes both route optimization and device management via QR/barcode scanning. That $20/mo gap matters for operators who need device tracking as part of their daily workflow and can’t justify the jump to $99/mo GorillaDesk Pro.
- Operator needing confirmed recurring/subscription billing: GorillaDesk Pro at $99/mo
- Subscription billing (autopay quarterly/annual service plans) is explicitly listed in GorillaDesk’s Pro tier ($99/mo). Fieldwork’s pricing and features pages (verified September 21, 2026) list invoicing and batch billing but do not name subscription billing as a feature. Operators whose entire revenue model depends on recurring service plans should either verify this with Fieldwork directly or default to GorillaDesk where the feature is confirmed.
Fieldwork pricing, every tier (verified September 21, 2026)
Pricing data from fieldworkhq.com/pricing, verified September 21, 2026. No annual plan discounts are listed; all prices are month-to-month. A two-week free trial is available with no credit card required. The per-field-user model means office administrators, dispatchers, and other non-field staff are free at all tiers.
Note on the Solo plan: Fieldwork’s features page (fieldworkhq.com/features, verified September 21, 2026) lists a Solo plan below Startup with CRM, scheduling, invoicing, chemical reporting, customer portal, and credit card payment processing. This plan does not appear on fieldworkhq.com/pricing with a listed price. GetApp reports it at $39/mo (retrieved September 21, 2026). As an independent grader, surfacing this discrepancy is more useful than silence: if the Solo plan is current at $39/mo, it changes the entry-price comparison with GorillaDesk Basic ($49/mo). Contact Fieldwork directly to confirm before signing up.
- Startup, $59/mo
- CRM, calendar and scheduling, invoicing, mobile apps for field techs, customer portal, reporting dashboard, work order photos with comments, appointment reminders, QuickBooks integration, custom forms. No route optimization on this tier. Best for solo operators who don’t run multi-stop daily routes and need a starting point with compliance forms.
- Business, $79/mo (marked “Best Value” by Fieldwork)
- Everything in Startup plus: Google Maps routing optimization, device management with QR/barcode scanning for trap monitoring and trend reporting. This is the tier where Fieldwork becomes compelling for operators running routes and tracking devices. The $79/mo price point sits between GorillaDesk Basic ($49/mo, 25-stop limit) and GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo, Drive Matrix + recurring billing).
- Pro, $99/mo
- Everything in Business plus: contracts and agreements with digital signatures, technician location tracking, multi-office support, Zapier integration, API access. Designed for operations managing multiple service locations or needing custom integrations.
Fieldwork does not list setup fees or contract terms on its pricing page. The two-week free trial with no credit card required matches industry norms.
Fieldwork at a glance, verified data vs GorillaDesk and category norm
Compiled from fieldworkhq.com/pricing and fieldworkhq.com/features (September 21, 2026) and gorilladesk.com/pricing (July 17, 2026). GorillaDesk included as the category benchmark for pest-specific FSMs.
| Feature | Fieldwork | Category norm | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $59/mo (Startup, pricing page); Solo plan not priced publicly (reported $39/mo by GetApp, Sept 2026) | $49/mo (Basic) | $29–$99/mo |
| Free trial | 2 weeks, no credit card | 14 days, no credit card | 14 days typical |
| Contract terms | Not listed on pricing page | Month-to-month; no contract | Month-to-month typical |
| Admin/office users | ✓ Free, not counted as users | ✓ Unlimited admin users | Both free admin |
| Route optimization | Business tier, $79/mo | ✓ Basic from $49/mo (25-stop); Drive Matrix $99/mo | Varies; often $49–$99 |
| Chemical / compliance tracking | ✓ CA + NY state formats (per features page; tier not specified) | ✓ Material tracking from $49/mo Basic | Pest-specific tools |
| Device / trap tracking (QR) | ✓ Business tier, $79/mo | ✓ Pro tier, $99/mo | Higher-tier feature |
| Recurring / subscription billing | Not confirmed on pricing/features pages | ✓ Confirmed at Pro, $99/mo | Mid-tier typical |
| Customer portal | ✓ All tiers | ✓ Pro tier ($99/mo) | Both included |
| QuickBooks integration | ✓ All tiers | ✓ Pro tier ($99/mo) | Both included |
| Multi-office support | Pro tier, $99/mo | Growth tier, $149/mo | Higher tier |
| Capterra rating | 4.9/5 (26 reviews) | 4.8/5 (277 reviews) | — |
| Setup fee | Not listed on pricing page | $0; free data migration | Varies |
Data from fieldworkhq.com/pricing, fieldworkhq.com/features, and gorilladesk.com/pricing, verified September 21, 2026. GorillaDesk highlighted as primary pest category benchmark. “Not confirmed” means the feature is not described on the vendor’s public pricing or features page; it does not mean the feature is absent. The Fieldwork entry price reflects the lowest plan appearing on the pricing page (Startup $59/mo); the Solo plan on the features page is not publicly priced.
The price-to-feature unlock comparison
Where Fieldwork and GorillaDesk diverge most: route optimization is cheaper on GorillaDesk at entry ($49/mo Startup, confirmed), but device/trap tracking is cheaper on Fieldwork ($79/mo vs $99/mo). Recurring billing is confirmed only on GorillaDesk. Data from live pricing pages, September 21, 2026:
Chemical and compliance tracking, the CA/NY differentiator
Fieldwork’s features page describes chemical usage tracking with state-specific compliance report formats for California and New York (verified September 21, 2026 from fieldworkhq.com/features). California requires licensed pest control operators to maintain pesticide application records that comply with the Department of Pesticide Regulation’s format requirements; New York has its own DEC documentation standards. Fieldwork specifically names these two states and their compliance formats as supported, a degree of regulatory specificity that most pest control FSMs, including GorillaDesk, do not explicitly advertise in their public documentation.
GorillaDesk’s material tracking (included from $49/mo Basic) logs product name, EPA registration number, application rate, target pest, and application date, the standard fields state regulators typically require. Whether GorillaDesk’s reports output in the precise formats required by California’s DPR or New York’s DEC is not stated in its public documentation.
The takeaway: if you operate in California or New York and need to generate records that match the exact state-mandated format, not just a general material log, Fieldwork’s explicit state compliance support is worth verifying directly with both vendors before you decide.
Scheduling, routing & dispatch
Fieldwork Startup ($59/mo) includes a calendar and scheduling interface but no route optimization. The Business tier ($79/mo) adds Google Maps routing with what Fieldwork describes as “intelligent address mapping” for efficient team routing and fuel budget optimization. There is no mention of a stop-count limit (GorillaDesk Basic imposes a 25-stop ceiling before Drive Matrix kicks in at $99/mo Pro).
On GetApp (26 reviews, 5.0/5 rating for routing from 4 routing-specific reviews), verified reviewers describe the routing as efficient for daily scheduling once trained. The caveat: Fieldwork’s routing is described as Google Maps-powered intelligent mapping rather than the drive-time matrix optimization that GorillaDesk’s Pro tier offers. For operators with highly variable urban routes where actual drive time differs substantially from map distance, the algorithm difference matters.
The practical comparison: GorillaDesk Basic ($49/mo) gives you basic routing up to 25 stops; Fieldwork Business ($79/mo) gives you routing without a named stop limit. For a route with 30–35 daily stops, Fieldwork Business may be the lower-cost option with more flexible stop counts, while GorillaDesk’s Drive Matrix at $99/mo offers a stronger algorithmic optimization for time savings.
Recurring billing & payments, the unconfirmed feature
This is the most significant caution about Fieldwork for pest control operators: subscription and recurring billing is not confirmed on Fieldwork’s public pricing or features pages (fieldworkhq.com/pricing and fieldworkhq.com/features, verified September 21, 2026).
The platform lists “automated invoicing and batch billing” and “credit card payment processing in the field” both consistent with one-time invoice and payment collection. A named “subscription billing” or “recurring service plans” feature, where a customer is enrolled in a quarterly service agreement and invoiced automatically on schedule, is not described by that name at any tier.
For a pest control operation where 60–80% of revenue comes from recurring quarterly or annual service plans, this is a non-trivial gap if unverified. Before committing to Fieldwork, ask their sales team directly: does the platform support automatic recurring invoicing for quarterly service plans with card-on-file autopay? If yes, at which tier?
GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) makes subscription billing a named, documented feature. Our best CRM for recurring billing comparison covers how the category handles this workflow in detail.
Mobile app & trap device tracking
Fieldwork’s mobile app handles field operations: job dispatch, work order photos, customer signatures, chemical usage logging, and payment collection in the field. Capterra reviewers describe the mobile app as lightweight and efficient, with fast load times that matter for technicians moving between multiple stops. Rural areas without cell signal are noted as a limitation, work orders cannot be completed offline, which is a real constraint for operators in low-coverage service areas.
The Business tier ($79/mo) adds device management with QR/barcode scanning. This allows field technicians to scan barcodes on mechanical traps, rodent stations, or monitoring devices to log activity, record catch data, and generate trend reports. GorillaDesk offers similar barcoding on its Pro plan ($99/mo). For an operator running commercial accounts or wildlife services where trap monitoring is a core service deliverable, Fieldwork Business at $79/mo reaches this feature $20/mo cheaper than GorillaDesk Pro.
The customer portal (included from the Startup tier) lets clients view service history, upcoming appointments, and pay invoices, reducing inbound call volume. Capterra reviewers specifically cite the portal as reducing “where’s my service?” calls.
What operators say, synthesized from verified sources
The following draws from Capterra (26 reviews, 4.9/5) and GetApp (26 reviews, 4.9/5), verified July 17, 2026. Sample size is significantly smaller than GorillaDesk’s 277 Capterra reviews, which limits pattern confidence. All observations are attributed to named platforms as user feedback; PestGrade has not used Fieldwork in a live business.
What Fieldwork operators love
- Customer service response speed
- The dominant theme in Fieldwork’s 26 Capterra reviews is support quality. Reviewers consistently describe fast response times, “every time I reach out…they respond in a very timely matter” and a support team that resolves issues promptly. For a small operation without dedicated IT staff, responsive support that doesn’t require ticket queuing is disproportionately valuable. GorillaDesk receives similar praise at a higher review volume, but Fieldwork’s 100% positive rating distribution (all 26 reviews are 4–5 stars) is notable.
- Pest-specific tool depth that reduces workarounds
- Capterra reviewers describe Fieldwork as purpose-built for pest control workflows in a way that general FSMs like Housecall Pro or Jobber are not. Features like pest activity tracking, device scanning, chemical logging, and USDA/AIB certification documentation are available without custom field creation. Operators who previously used general FSMs mention that Fieldwork’s pest defaults eliminated configurations they had been maintaining manually.
- Long-term retention (“once you learn it, you won’t leave it”)
- A pattern across multiple Capterra reviewers is initial setup friction followed by high satisfaction once past the learning curve. One owner-operator summarized: “Once you learn it, you won’t leave it. Great customer service and always fast.” This matches the high rating but also flags the onboarding investment required.
What frustrates Fieldwork operators
- Steep initial learning curve
- The most consistent verified frustration: the platform requires significant setup time before it runs smoothly. Reviewers describe a training investment that is above-average compared to simpler tools. For an operator trying to go live in a week, this is a real cost. GorillaDesk is frequently described as faster to implement for a comparable feature set.
- Network dependency in rural service areas
- Multiple Capterra reviewers note that work orders cannot be completed without cell signal, offline mode is not supported. For pest operators with service areas in rural or low-coverage zones, this is a non-trivial operational gap. Jobs stall until the technician re-enters coverage.
- Credit card processing requires manual charge handling
- Reviewers describe friction in the in-field credit card payment workflow: processing requires manual steps that slow down checkout. For an operation with multiple stops per day where fast payment collection matters, this is worth testing during the free trial.
Right for / wrong for
- Right for: California or New York operators with state compliance documentation requirements
- Fieldwork explicitly supports CA and NY pesticide compliance report formats. If your state’s department of agriculture or environmental agency requires specific report formats that go beyond a generic material usage log, Fieldwork’s state-format support is a meaningful differentiator worth evaluating.
- Right for: Operations needing QR/barcode trap device tracking before the $99/mo tier
- Device management (QR barcode scanning for trap activity and trend reporting) unlocks at Fieldwork Business ($79/mo). GorillaDesk doesn’t include device barcoding until Pro ($99/mo). For a commercial or wildlife operation where trap monitoring is a regular workflow, the $20/mo gap is meaningful.
- Right for: Operators wanting a purpose-built pest FSM with very responsive support
- Fieldwork’s 4.9/5 Capterra rating with 100% positive reviews (albeit 26 reviews) and its consistent praise for support response speed makes it worth considering for operators who prioritize vendor support quality as a buying criterion.
- Wrong for: Operators who need confirmed recurring/subscription billing
- If your business runs on quarterly or annual service plans with autopay, recurring billing is a prerequisite. Fieldwork does not confirm this feature on its public pages. Verify before signing up, or use GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) where it is documented.
- Wrong for: Operators wanting the lowest confirmed entry price without verification
- Fieldwork’s pricing page lists Startup at $59/mo as the lowest available plan. A Solo plan on the features page is reported at $39/mo by GetApp (September 2026) but not priced on fieldworkhq.com/pricing. Until Fieldwork publicly lists it, GorillaDesk Basic at $49/mo (confirmed, with material tracking and basic routing from entry) is the lower-risk choice for budget-constrained operators. Verify the Solo plan directly with Fieldwork before making entry price your deciding factor.
- Wrong for: Operators who want peer community or large review base for vendor accountability
- With 26 reviews, Fieldwork has a small track record compared to GorillaDesk (277 Capterra reviews) or Housecall Pro (2,742 reviews). A smaller review base means less pattern data to assess long-term support quality, pricing changes, or feature reliability.
Our pick for CA/NY compliance operators and device tracking: Fieldwork Business
If you operate in California or New York and need state-specific compliance report formats, or if you need QR trap device tracking before paying $99/mo, Fieldwork Business at $79/mo is the right tier to evaluate. Take the two-week free trial with no credit card required.
PestGrade is reader-supported. When you sign up for a tool through our links, we may earn a commission, at no cost to you, and it never affects our rankings. How we grade →
Need confirmed recurring billing? See our GorillaDesk review ($99/mo Pro with subscription billing). Budget first? See the cheapest options with routing.
For most pest operators: GorillaDesk Basic at $49/mo
GorillaDesk starts $10/mo cheaper, includes material tracking from entry, has basic routing at $49/mo, and confirms subscription billing at $99/mo Pro. If state-specific CA/NY compliance formatting and sub-$99 device tracking are not your primary criteria, GorillaDesk is the more verified choice.
PestGrade is reader-supported. When you sign up for a tool through our links, we may earn a commission, at no cost to you, and it never affects our rankings. How we grade →
Related reading
Frequently asked questions
- How much does Fieldwork pest control software cost?
- Fieldwork’s pricing page (fieldworkhq.com/pricing, verified September 21, 2026) lists three plans: Startup at $59/mo, Business at $79/mo (marked Best Value), and Pro at $99/mo. A two-week free trial requires no credit card. Office and admin staff are free at all tiers. Note: the features page also lists a Solo plan with core CRM and scheduling features, but it is not priced on the pricing page. GetApp reports the Solo plan at $39/mo (retrieved September 21, 2026); contact Fieldwork to confirm.
- Does Fieldwork have chemical tracking for pest control?
- Yes. Fieldwork’s features page lists chemical compliance reporting with state-specific formats for California and New York (verified September 21, 2026). The pricing page does not specify which tier includes it; the features page presents it as a platform-wide capability. GorillaDesk explicitly lists material tracking from $49/mo Basic.
- Does Fieldwork have route optimization?
- Route optimization is available on the Business tier ($79/mo) and Pro tier ($99/mo), but not on the $59/mo Startup tier (verified September 21, 2026). GorillaDesk includes basic routing (25-stop limit) from $49/mo and Drive Matrix from $99/mo.
- How does Fieldwork compare to GorillaDesk?
- Fieldwork’s pricing page (verified September 21, 2026) lists Startup at $59/mo; GorillaDesk Basic is $49/mo. However, a Solo plan on Fieldwork’s features page (not priced publicly) is reported by GetApp at $39/mo, which, if confirmed, would make Fieldwork cheaper to start. GorillaDesk advantages: confirmed chemical tracking from entry, confirmed recurring billing at $99/mo Pro, and a larger review base (277 vs 26 Capterra reviews). Fieldwork advantages: state-specific CA/NY compliance formats and QR trap device tracking at $79/mo (GorillaDesk requires $99/mo for barcoding). Fieldwork does not confirm recurring billing on its public pages. Contact Fieldwork to verify the Solo plan before making entry price your decision factor.
- Is Fieldwork worth it for pest control?
- For California and New York operators needing state-specific pesticide compliance formats, or for operators who want QR trap tracking at $79/mo (rather than paying $99/mo on GorillaDesk), Fieldwork Business is worth a free trial. One open question as of September 2026: the features page lists a Solo plan reported at $39/mo by GetApp, which, if confirmed, would make Fieldwork cheaper to start than GorillaDesk Basic ($49/mo). Contact Fieldwork to verify the Solo plan before signing up. For operators who need confirmed recurring billing, GorillaDesk Pro ($99/mo) remains the stronger documented choice.
Last verified: September 21, 2026 (pricing and features from fieldworkhq.com/pricing and fieldworkhq.com/features; GetApp Solo plan report retrieved September 21, 2026). Operator feedback from Capterra and GetApp (26 reviews each, verified July 17, 2026). PestGrade assesses tools from public demos, verified user reviews, and vendor documentation, never hands-on use in a live business. See how we grade for the full methodology.